13 Dec Wisconsin Pickle Law
This law is very restrictive. Producers can sell canned food worth up to $5,000 per year at farmers` markets and other community events. You are allowed to make jams, jellies, pickled products, sauces and other canned foods that are acidic enough to be safe. To sell baked goods, use this law. Although no training is required, vendors are encouraged to learn about safe canning practices. For more information, see the “Training” section of the Agriculture Department`s home canning page. The $5,000 sales limit only applies to the sale of your canned goods. You can sell an unlimited amount of homemade baked goods by following this judgment. As of 2017, Wisconsin now has a policy that allows homemade baked goods. This older law, also known as the “Pickle Bill,” still applies to the sale of canned foods. You can sell baked goods at home by following this judgment. While there are no formal workplace requirements, the Ministry of Agriculture encourages vendors to maintain safe hygiene practices in their kitchens and keep records of the products they make.
For more information, see the “Records” and “Hygiene” sections of the Department of Agriculture`s Canned Food at Home page. There is no registration process to start selling, although the Ministry of Agriculture encourages sellers to test their product for safety and undergo training to learn more about safe production practices. Because opposition to homemade baked goods is purely political, three women partnered with the Institute of Justice in January 2016 to file a lawsuit against the ban on homemade baked goods. One of the women, Lisa Kivirist, is the author of Homemade for Sale. Wisconsin introduced bills in 2014 (AB 182) and 2016 (SB 330) that attempted to allow the direct sale of certain baked goods, but they did not pass. OK, that makes my head spin. 1 law says you can`t sell homemade salsa and things like that, but this one says you can, but it has to be at the farmer`s market or at an event. Well, what if you don`t have a car or someone to drive you to these places to sell your wares. So what.. These laws are still confusing for me… You can sell some cookies but not others…
I never put chocolate chip cookies in the fridge, so why can`t you sell them… And if you can`t sell baked goods with icing, how come stores and cupcakes sit for hours in their casings with people nearby. This just doesn`t seem right to me, I don`t see any list for the sale of salt as in sea salt or more specifically smoked sea salt. It`s about as safe of a product as you can make pathogens. Can I sell such an item? All products must have a pH of 4.6 or less. The Ministry of Agriculture recommends the use of a pH meter or laboratory test. This 2010 Pickle bill was modeled after the previous Minnesota law, except that Minnesota law allowed baked goods. In 2013, Minnesota`s agricultural division was also sued, and since 2015, the state now has a better law. Before 2017, it didn`t make sense for Wisconsin to allow canned foods, which are relatively risky, and not baked goods, some of the least risky foods. This was likely due to the presence of some special interest groups, such as the Wisconsin Bakers Association, who were concerned about competition from amateur bakers.